Walkers Mill

Walkers_Mill-2Walkers Mill in Charlottesville, Virginia

This mill was originally built by Thomas Walker, Thomas Jefferson’s guardian around 1783. Henry Browne, renowned restoration architect and preservationist, completely and faithfully restored this unique property into the comfortable home it is today.

In 1994 Mr Browne received an award from the Thomas Jefferson Branch of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities.

The main home is on three levels of stone and clapboard construction with detached studio of frame construction which is outfitted to be either a separate apartment or a complete office.

The northern portion of this protected and beautiful 2.56 acre parcel is an idyllic glen alongside Happy Creek. This peaceful spot is a soulful get away where one can read a book or write a poem completely detached from the cares of the world. The Mill is a harmonious blend of its past heritage and the present. Walker’s Mill includes an 18 foot turn of the century waterwheel, exquisite woodwork, enormous structural timbers, recessed windows and dramatic glass wall. The Master suite is on the second floor with the guest suite on the third floor

Scroll to Top